Courtney Whetstone

courtneywhetstone

Name: Courtney Whetstone

Title: completing my MA School: Argosy University

How did you hear about Outreach?  I heard about outreach through the practicum fair at my school and as soon as I heard Karissa talk about the program I knew it was going to be where I wanted to do my internship. It was my first choice of sites.

What are some other roles you play in life you would like to share? The role I would like to play next in my life besides therapist is “mother” and “wife”.

What led to your decision to be a school counselor with us? There were a few things that made me want to be a school counselor. The days worked with my schedule, I love working with kids, and a big part of me has always wanted to be a school counselor.

What are some key elements needed while working with children and adolescents in this role? Compassion, active listening, understanding, validation, joining the client where they are, and normalizing the feelings that they may have.

How do you identify change in clients? If the client is talking more, attitude perking up, grades going up, their posture even at times will be a bit better.

How can this practicum/internship experience help you in your future working in the mental health field? I know I am good with children and I know I can do this type of work for a long time. It has helped me see that I would like to work with children who are on the autism spectrum.

What words of wisdom can you share with future candidates of Outreach Concern? Don’t feel like you have to do everything at once. It is ok to take the time to understand your client and go at their pace. Not everyone goes at the same pace as you do or the pace that you want them to. Never underestimate the power of play therapy or art therapy. It Is ok to sit in silence at times.

