Ivy Luc

ivy

Name: Ivy Luc

Title: MS, currently working toward Doctor of Psychology degree, PSYD

School: California Lutheran University

Practicum Site: 

How did you hear about Outreach?

My former clinical director from California Lutheran University (Dr. Nicole Brown, Psy.D) encouraged me to complete my practicum with Outreach Concerns Inc. due to my interest of working with students particularly ethnic minority students who can speak Cantonese, Vietnamese, Mandarin or Hakka.

What are some other roles you play in life you would like to share? I am a third generation of Chinese born in Viet Nam. Therefore, I enjoy working with ethnic minority to enhance their academic performance as they acculturate and adapt to the American society.

What led to your decision to be a school counselor with us? Due to linguistic skills, I would like to provide counseling to students having difficulties learning due to language barriers.

What are some key elements needed while working with children and adolescents in this role? I encountered quite a few challenges while working with adolescents at private and Catholic highschool where patience, flexibility, and open-mindedness greatly benefited our therapeutic alliances and outcomes.

How do you identify change in clients? I identified change in clients based upon the goals that clients have accomplished even if it is a minute change such as completing all of the assigned homework or earning an A on a test.

How can this practicum/internship experience help you in your future working in the mental health field? This practicum experience sharpened my clinical skills when working with adolescents because this is my first time providing counseling for adolescents. My future goal is to become a school psychologist and working with adolescent after I am a licensed clinical psychologist.

What words of wisdom can you share with future candidates of Outreach Concern? I would like to share with future candidates that it is important to acknowledge your strengths and areas of improvement in order to utilize your strengths to enhance your therapeutic skills.

Leave a Reply

