Rheggie Enrique Carranza

rheggie

Name: Rheggie Enrique Carranza

Title: B.A. from Biola University, majored in psychology and minored theology, in progress of MA in marriage & family therapy at Hope International University

School Site: John H. Eader Elementary School (Huntington Beach City District)

How did you hear about Outreach?  I heard about Outreach Concern Inc. from my professional development class. I heard that this organization was a great experience for working with children.

What are some other roles you play in life you would like to share?  I have a lot of hobbies. But my favorite is playing a competitive game of ultimate frisbee; I’m really good at this sport. I am one of the founders of the annual “Stall-Out!” ultimate frisbee tournament, which is set up to connect members from surrounding communities of where I live (Fullerton, CA) and is also a fundraising event that donates all its financial proceed to support members to advance their benevolent cause. Currently, I work for a private Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) agency by day and a strategic-graduate student by night. I highly value education for the sake that it helped me become a strong independent thinker and its ability to create good character.

What led to your decision to be a school counselor with us? My decision to be a trainee with Outreach Concern Inc. is simple and twofold, ( a) children are important to me and I find it rewarding to be able to contribute to the posterity, and (b)  I would gain high volume of exposure to children.

What are some key elements needed while working with children and adolescents in this role? Three key elements I believe for a successful outcome working with children is their need to feel safe, their need to be trusted and believed in for their potential, and consistency.

How do you identify change in clients? There are a few ways to identify change in my students, some are: a progress in their academic status, elevated social skills in making new and better friends, their increase ability to identify & self-regulate emotions, improvement in their communication with both teachers/staff and primary caregivers, and lastly a greater sense of self-esteem and to engage in appropriate play during sessions.

How can this practicum/internship experience help you in your future working in the mental health field?As I reflect on the impact of my experience at Outreach Concern Inc and its future influence in my career in the mental health field, it has built an even stronger belief in me in the importance of primary caregivers role for influencing good health & well-being and their success in performance. I have gained more skills interacting with children and to create space for their need to grow and  organically build a stronger relationship with children. I have a greater understanding and respect with how vulnerable and malleable children are in childhood development. Another aspect that this experience will help me in the future is learned language that children have; to be able to maneuver with meeting children where they are at (emotionally, intellectually, and psychologically) while simultaneously challenging them for attainable growth/development. I have also obtained experience in understanding and being able to diplomatically interact with parents/ primary caregivers concern for their children, to step alongside with them to advocate the best interest of their child.

What words of wisdom can you share with future candidates of Outreach Concern? My wisdom to share is merely that children are often neglected to be considered as people too, as though their choices don’t matter, but they do matter because their ability to make choices determine their ability to contribute to the bigger picture of humanity and they desperately need good guidance for their becoming. If there needs to be a change in this world it is critical and often needs to happen first with the investment of children’s development. Also, Outreach Concern Inc, is a great venue to make an exponential impact and gain vital insight to raw emotions of human beings.

